Andy Scott shortlisted for British Composer Award

Tell a Friend

Andy Scott’s Spirit of Mingus has been shortlisted for a British Composer Award 2012 in the Wind Band or Brass Band category. The work beat off stiff competition from some of the UK’s leading contemporary composers to make it on to the shortlist of only three selected works revealed on BBC Radio 3’s In Tune on 25 October. Andy Scott has gained a strong international reputation for his innovative and powerful works for brass band over the last five years, success which is reflected in this nomination.


Spirit of Mingus was commissioned by Foden’s Band in 2011 as the latest stage of their ongoing relationship with Andy as their composer in residence. It was premiered by Foden’s at the RNCM Festival of Brass in January 2012 under the baton of Mike Fowles, with soloist Rex Richardson (narrator and jazz trumpet). Christopher Thomas of Four Bars Rest wrote: “Andy Scott utilised Foden’s formidable array of soloists to brilliant effect in his choreographed, narrated and brilliantly evocative Spirit of Mingus.”


The British Composer Awards, now in their 10th year, are unique in the world for their focus on contemporary classical and jazz music. Created by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA), the Awards exist to promote the art of composition, to recognise the creative talent of composers who live and work in the UK and to bring contemporary music to a wider audience.


This is the second time that Andy Scott’s work has been recognised in the highly prestigious award scheme. Dark Rain, his concerto for two saxophones and wind orchestra, won a British Composer Award in the same category in 2006. Andy Scott’s works are published exclusively by Astute Music.


The 10th British Composer Awards ceremony will take place on 3 December at Goldsmiths’ Hall, London and will feature in a BBC Radio 3 broadcast on 9 December.



For more information, please contact Alison Owen-Morley at or on 07739 158259 or 01924 382246.


Notes for Editors:

¨      Andy Scott is a leading composer, saxophonist and educator, renowned for his stylistic versatility. As a composer he received a British Composer Award in 2006, is composer in residence with Foden’s Band, and is increasingly in demand for commissions. As a performer he is a founder member of the internationally acclaimed Apollo Saxophone Quartet and nine piece jazz group Sax Assault, as well as performing solo and in many collaborative projects with other artists.

¨      A committed educator, Andy is Tutor of Saxophone at the Royal Northern College of Music, as well as leading workshops and teaching on summer schools across the UK and internationally. Andy formed the World Tenor Saxophone Consortium in 2003, is Vice President of the International Saxophone Committee and an endorsee of Selmer Paris Saxophones and Vandoren.

¨      Foden’s band maintains a world class reputation for providing quality entertainment in the field of brass music with a traditional and unique style. The band aims to consistently provide music of the highest quality at a cost which reflects outstanding value for money. The band has a strong focus on commissioning and promoting new music and Andy Scott has been composer in residence since 2008. Foden’s recently scooped the top two prizes in the brass band world by winning both the National Brass Band Championships and the British Open Shield.

The publishing company Astute Music specialises in high quality compositions by high quality composers. Run by musicians and offering a service to customers and composers alike, the company appoints specialist editors, all leading players and teachers, to ensure that its high levels of quality are maintained. In a relatively short time Astute has built a strong reputation in the music world, and has pieces on both the Associated Board and Trinity Guildhall grade syllabuses.

Leave a Reply

Recent articles

Brass Musician welcomes Kate Wohlman aboard as chief editor and newest contributor! Brass shows its mettle Relaunch of Iconic 1950’s Jazz Catalog, Bethlehem Records, Announced by Verse Music Group & Naxos of America Jon Sass Low Brass Seminars

Our contributors

Sponsored ads